Ohio Racing Commission Sets New Medication Thresholds

POSTED ON  |  01-10-2019

The Ohio State Racing Commission adopted a resolution Sept. 25 that set thresholds for a number of therapeutic medications for horse racing and reclassified four as prohibited substances. "One of our goals is to get more in line with the RMTC and the ARCI and with the surrounding states," said Michael Rzymek, deputy director and legal counsel for the commission, referring to the Racing Medication and Testing Consortium and the Association of Racing Commissioners International.

Medications that now have thresholds are: 
  • albuterol, a broncodilator; 
  • cetirizine, an antihistamine;
  • cimetidine, omeprazole, and ranitidine, which are all used to treat ulcers and reduce stomach acid;
  • dantrolene, a muscle relaxant;
  • dexamethasone, isoflupredone, methylprednisolone, and prednisolone, which are all musculoskeletal anti-inflammatory drugs;
  • diclofenac and firocoxib, which are nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs;
  • guaifenesin, a decongestant;
  • mepivacaine, an analgesic;
  • xylazine, a sedative and muscle relaxant; and
  • triamcinolone acetonide, which treats a variety of skin conditions.
The Ohio State Racing Commission's Full List of Regulatory Thresholds for Prohibited Substances

The four medications that are now prohibited and will result in a positive test result if found at any level include pentazocine, a pain medication; promazine, a tranquilizer; pyrilamine, an antihistamine; and stanozolol, an anabolic steroid. These four medications are considered Class 3 drugs by the ARCI, meaning they may have a therapeutic use but also have the potential for affecting performance in racehorses.

© 2015 IGSRV All rights reserved.